What she doesn’t know might kill her…

Lisa Ashton receives a last-minute reprieve from death two weeks before her birthday. Regaining consciousness, she is horrified to learn one of her friends has been killed – and saved her life.
As she recovers, she uncovers a trail of carefully guarded reputations, disturbing rumours, and lies. Soon, Lisa begins to wonder if one of her friends is hiding a terrible secret.
Because five of them entered the escape room that day, and only four got out alive.
And someone is determined to cover their tracks before she can find out the truth.

Can Lisa find the killer before someone else dies?

The Friend Who Lied: a twisted psychological thriller from USA Today bestseller Rachel Amphlett – perfect for fans of The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley and Friend Request by Laura Marshall.

What’s the difference between writing a thriller and a psychological thriller?

For the past eight years, I’ve been writing and publishing on a regular basis – three books a year since 2015, in fact.

Those books have included espionage series, standalone action adventure novels, and a popular police procedural series.

With The Friend Who Lied, I’ve taken my first foray into the world of psychological thrillers – and I can’t get enough.

All thrillers have an element of psychology about them, particularly motive – what causes a character to do what they do.

I’ve always said that every single one of my characters has to have a motive, even if that character doesn’t have a lead role.

When my Detective Kay Hunter is interviewing a witness, that witness has a motive for what he (or she) tells the police – for example, he might not want to tell the police everything that he saw take place in case it implicates him, or he might be worried about repercussions if the bad guy finds out who grassed him up.

When it came to writing The Friend Who Lied however, those motives were amplified and heightened by something else.

Emotions.

With police procedurals, there’s a lot of plot the characters have to convey through their actions and words. The outcome (usually) is that the bad guy is caught and the detective sees justice served for the victim.

With a psychological thriller however, it’s often what is going through the characters’ minds that dictate the pace and the way the story unfolds.

The fun comes with having different characters with different viewpoints and opinions about what is happening to them, and how they react to the situation they find themselves in.

Do they become defensive, angry, or stubborn?

Or perhaps they panic, lie, or run?

It’s that fight or flight instinct we hear so much about.

We writers love it – using heightened emotions in psychological thrillers gives us plenty to throw at our characters to see how they’re going to survive the situations we put them in!

Author Bio:

Before turning to writing, USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC, and worked in publishing as a sub-editor and editorial assistant.

She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the Dan Taylor and English Spy Mysteries espionage novels and theDetective Kay Hunter British police procedural series.

She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.

Praise for Rachel Amphlett

“Thrilling start to a new series. Scared to Death is a stylish, smart and gripping crime thriller” ~ Robert Bryndza, USA Today bestselling author ofThe Girl in the Ice

“Scared to Death… moves along at breakneck speed with twists and turns” ~ Angela Marsons, bestselling author of the Detective Kim Stone crime thriller series.

Social Media Links:

Email: info@rachelamphlett.com

www.rachelamphlett.com

Twitter: @RachelAmphlett

Instagram: @RachelAmphlett

Facebook: Rachel Amphlett

Purchase Links:

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Gloucestershire Crime History

Historical bits and pieces about crime and punishment in Gloucestershire

BookBathBrew

The Perfect Way to Spend an Evening

Love Books Group

A love of books are our very core!

BOOKS FROM DUSK TILL DAWN

Each night I TRAVEL THE WORLD, I LIVE IN THE MIND OF KILLERS AND WALK AT THE SIDE OF HEROES

Books n All Promotions

Social Media Promotion

bytheletterbookreviews

Book reviews and more

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: